Courting Darkness by Robin LaFevers

BLURB~

“First in a duology, this darkly thrilling page-turner set in the world of the best-selling His Fair Assassin series is perfect for fans of THRONE OF GLASS, RED QUEEN, and GAME OF THRONES. Told in alternating perspectives, when Sybella discovers there is another trained assassin from St. Mortain’s convent deep undercover in the French court, she must use every skill in her arsenal to navigate the deadly royal politics and find her sister in arms before her time—and that of the newly crowned queen—runs out. 

When Sybella accompanies the Duchess to France, she expects trouble, but she isn’t expecting a deadly trap. Surrounded by enemies both known and unknown, Sybella searches for the undercover assassins from the convent of St. Mortain who were placed in the French court years ago.

Genevieve has been undercover for so many years, she no longer knows who she is or what she’s supposed to be fighting for. When she discovers a hidden prisoner who may be of importance, she takes matters into her own hands.
 
As these two worlds collide, the fate of the Duchess, Brittany, and everything Sybella and Genevieve have come to love hangs in the balance.”

Review~

I hadn’t realized this was a spin-off from a previous trilogy, “His Farr Assassin” until after I’d read this book. I will say it can be understood without having read the trilogy prior, but I AM going to read that series. I am certain it will link back enough to add to this novel. “Courting Darkness” is the first in a duology and I can hardly wait for the next installment!

To me, it seems to be a dark fantasy set within almost-historical fiction. It also has a delicious blend of political intrigue, suspense, and romance. (There is some writing with LGTB characters.) One thing I love best: a strong and bad A female MC. In fact, this book gives us two. This story was wonderful to read.

The quality of writing is masterful. The La Fevers has an intuitive ability to write with detail and description effortlessly. You become immersed in French Court and fearful for the MCs as they traverse their ways through the precarious, very true to life scenes. The author keeps you dangling with this one. Even if delighted from cover to cover.

The characters were constructed in such a way that, even though you know and understand their flaws, you find yourself cheering them on. All of the main players felt genuine and robust despite their misgivings. I love how the author used her superior skills to forge a world in which the reader could see and feel come alive! Robin’s acumen for telling a story is apparent throughout the book.

This was such a relishable novel to read. It was easy to follow, even without having read the previous trilogy. I just wish I had waited to read it until it was closer to time for the next one to be released. Highly recommended with 5/5 stars!

I was given this book by the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts and opinions are my own.

This review, or portions thereof, will be posted (when able) on Amazon, B&N, Goodreads, Kobo, IG, FB, Pinterest, Litsy, and my own blog.

Unfortunately, I am unable to provide links to all sites as I am using my phone.

On various sites I am:

Pinterest~ Pinterest.com/katskraps

Barnes & Noble~ Karyl-Ahn-white_7

Litsy~ Karylahn or Karyl White

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s